Fans of Luke Geddes and Alissa Nutting will want to indulge in M.C. Schmidt’s darkly comedic novel


In M.C. Schmidt’s brilliantly imagined satirical book, “The Decadents,” readers meet Phil Ochs, a blustery, top Fry Buddy restaurant franchisee who never overcame that childhood sense of being mocked. When he loses a coveted award, Phil’s craving for respect pushes into obsession.


The Decadents follows Phil as he devises a scheme to get him recognized as the great man he knows himself to be, all while working against an As Seen on TV addicted wife and a son who is campaigning against him through poetry. Whether Phil becomes a figure of admiration or of national hatred depends on how well he conceals the more depraved elements of his plan.


With his novel, Schmidt uses a unique cast of unforgettable characters to spin a tribute to present-day practices of politics, American consumerism, the complicated dynamics of a contemporary family and our own day-to-day complicity in creating it.


“The Decadents” By M.C. Schmidt

ISBN (paperback): 978-1956769043

ISBN (hardcover): 978-1956769050


Release Date: 05.26.2022


About the Author

M.C. Schmidt's short fiction has appeared in New World Writing, BULL, Spectrum Literary Journal, Abstract Magazine, Litro Online, Every Day Fiction, and elsewhere. He holds an MFA in Creative Writing. Follow M.C. Schmidt on Twitter for more- @MCSchmidt12


For additional information or media inquiries:

Library Tales Publishing

1-800-745-5016

angel@librarytales.com


About Library Tales Publishing:

Library Tales Publishing is a full-service publishing house for serious authors. Each title produced by Library Tales Publishing undergoes a professional publishing process, including editing, layout, cover design, circulation, distribution, and publicity. All manuscripts in any genre are welcome to be submitted for review; if the manuscript meets the necessary criteria and is accepted for publication, Library Tales Publishing will work closely with the author to bring the book to the retail market.


18 views0 comments